“He asked me to fix his plate! What am I his maid?”

“She asked me to do the dishes. Bruh that’s her job.”

“A woman’s place is in the house, especially the kitchen.”

How many of you have heard those phrases or something similar? Do you not see a problem with this?

People we are in the year of 2017 and haven’t progressed enough to get over gender roles in a relationship. My friend and I were talking about this the other night. We were raised in-house holds where each spouse had duties. My grandmother went to work to bring home the bacon because my grandfather had a bad back due to an accident. Want to know something though? He didn’t feel emasculated. No, he did the dishes, washed clothes, and kept the house tidy.

Why? Because that is what you do when you are in a relationship. You help each other. Everyday I see young couples calling it quits because one or the other didn’t do something. Or heaven forbid, asks them to do something!

Yes in the fifties it was the norm for a woman to stay home and take care of the house and children, but times have changed. In most house holds it takes both adults working just to make ends meet. It shouldn’t just be a woman’s job to cook or clean, or just a man’s job to yard work. The jobs that are to be done at home or in the yard should be shared by the couple.

My generation of millennials have a terrible habit of this. I for one am not the stereotypical millennial. I am 21 years old, married with a child, work, and my husband and I share the house and yard chores. We actually consider that quality time and feel proud and accomplished to know that when we are done with the chores; we have also taken care of what is ours.

Leave a Reply

